Photograph of Pope Benedict XVI at the Vatican by Pier Paolo Cito/AP

The Vatican has just issued a list of seven new "social" sins. As Bloomberg News reports, Bishop Gianfranco Girotti explained, "You offend God not only by stealing, taking the Lord's name in vain or coveting your neighbor's wife, but also by wrecking the environment, carrying out morally debatable experiments that manipulate DNA or harm embryos." Here they are:

1. "Bioethical" violations such as birth control
2. "Morally dubious'' experiments such as stem cell research
3. Drug abuse
4. Polluting the environment
5. Contributing to widening divide between rich and poor
6. Excessive wealth
7. Creating poverty

So, was this list drawn up in anticipation of Pope Benedict XVI's April trip to the United States?

And here are the original ("old skool") sins, from Pope Gregory I: Pride, Envy, Gluttony, Lust, Anger, Greed and Sloth.