After a lengthy debate, the New York State Senate voted 38-24 against a bill to legalize same-sex marriage. The Marriage Equality Act was finally brought to the floor for an up or down vote today after overcoming legislative roadblocks from opponents. During the emotional debate, one of the bill’s sponsors, State Senator Thomas K. Duane of Manhattan, who is gay, said, "This legislation would merely provide me and tens of thousands of other New Yorkers with equal rights in New York State. It would make me equal in every way to everyone else in this chamber."

But it was not to be, and the bill's main opponent, State Senator Rubén Díaz Sr. of the Bronx, reiterated his belief that marriage should be limited to a union between a man and woman, insisting that "not only the evangelicals, not only the Jews, not only the Muslims, not only the Catholics, but also the people oppose [same-sex marriage]." All the Republicans voted no, and they were were joined by several NYC Democrats, including Diaz, Hiram Monserrate, Joseph Addabbo, Shirley Huntley, George Onorato, and Carl Kruger. State Senator Eric Schneiderman, a Democrat who represents Manhattan and the Bronx, issued this statement:

"This is a sad day for the state of New York, and a heartbreaking defeat for equality. But this fight is far from over. Now that we know where every member of the Senate stands on the issue of marriage equality, we have our work cut out for us. We will keep fighting, keep working, and keep pushing until every New Yorker has the fundamental civil rights that come with a marriage license. The day will come soon when ALL men and women of this state will be recognized as equal, endowed by their Creator with the unalienable rights of life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. Justice and equality will prevail."

Below, a list of how each Senator voted:

Ayes 24, Nays 38

Yea Eric Adams (D)

Nay Joe Addabbo (D)

Nay Jim Alesi (R)

Nay Darrel Aubertine (D)

Nay John Bonacic (R)

Yea Neil Breslin (D)

Nay John DeFrancisco (D)

Nay Ruben Diaz Sr. (D)

Yea Martin Malave Dilan (D)

Yea Tom Duane (D)

Yea Pedro Esapda Jr. (D)

Nay Hugh Farley (R)

No John Flanagan (R)

Yes Brian Foley (D)

No Chuck Fuschillo (R)

No Marty Golden (R)

No Joe Griffo (R)

No Kemp Hannon (R)

Yes Ruth Hassell-Thompson (D)

No Shirley Huntley (D)

Yes Craig Johnson (D)

No Owen Johnson (R)

Yes Jeff Klein (D)

Yes Liz Krueger (D)

No Carl Kruger (D)

No Andrew Lanza (R)

No Bill Larkin (R)

No Ken LaValle (R)

No Vincent Leibell (R)

No Tom Libous (R)

No Betty Little (R)

No Carl Marcellino (R)

No George Maziarz (R)

No Roy McDonald (R)

No Hiram Monserrate (D)

Yes Velmanette Montgomery (D)

No Tom Morahan (R)

No Mike Nozzolio (R)

No George Onorato (D)

Yes Suzi Oppenheimer (D)

No Frank Padavan (R)

Yes Kevin Parker (D)

Yes Bill Perkins (D)

No Mike Ranzenhofer (R)

No Joe Robach

No Saland

Yes John Sampson (D)

Yes Diane Savino (D)

Yes Eric Schneiderman (D)

Yes Jose M. Serrano (D)

No Jim Seward

No Dean Skelos (R)

Yes Malcolm Smith (D)

Yes Daniel Squadron (D)

No Bill Stachowski

Yes Toby Ann Stavisky

Yes Andrea Stewart-Cousins

No Young

[Via New York Observer]