New York and New Jersey residents impacted by remnants of Hurricane Ida will get several more weeks to formally request financial assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency months after the record-breaking storm ravaged the metro area.

FEMA announced Friday it extended the financial assistance application deadline from December 6th to January 4th for New York residents who lived in the Bronx, Queens, Staten Island, and Brooklyn. For residents in Essex and Union counties in New Jersey, the deadline has been extended until January 5th. Residents must have lived in those counties when the storm struck on September 2nd.

According to FEMA, more than $354 million in FEMA funds have been allocated to 72,000 households affected by Ida.

FEMA extended the deadline at the urging of officials from each state.

Nearly four-dozen people were killed in New York and New Jersey because of the storm, which produced over 8 inches of rainwater in parts of each state in just a few hours, overloading the city’s sewer system and flooding streets and homes. President Joe Biden, who toured flood-ravaged areas in Queens on September 7th, approved an emergency declaration, clearing the way for FEMA funds.

Read More: More Than A Month After Ida, A Family That Lost Everything Is Still Without a Home

For those applying, the following documents are needed:

  • Social Security number.
  • Address of the damaged primary residence.
  • Insurance information.
  • Current telephone number and mailing address.
  • Bank account information to deposit funds.

The agency encourages those to work with their insurance companies first before seeking assistance from FEMA, which will provide impacted residents funds for home repairs, lodging, and rental assistance. Funds are also available to help cover some costs (upwards of $32,000) for residents looking to buy a new home if their old one was made unlivable because of Ida.

If FEMA funds are no longer available, residents are encouraged to apply for low-interest loans of up to $200,000 through the U.S. Small Business Administration.

For more information on how one can apply, click here for New Jersey and here for New York.