The second part of Leandra's Law is going into effect today, forcing anyone convicted of a DWI to install a device in their car that would require them to pass a breathalyzer test before driving. If a BAC of .025 or over is detected, the ignition locks. Don Prudente, the owner of DriveSafe Ignition Interlock of New York, says, "It's so sensitive, it picks up what they did the night before. It picks up their hangover." Drivers also must pay for the devices out of their own pockets.
It costs drivers up to $200 to install the device, a GPS system and a camera to record each test, and about $80 a month for maintenance. But Prudente says, "It's a small price to pay to have their license back." The first part of Leandra's Law, which made it a felony to drive intoxicated with anyone under the age of 15 in the car, went into effect in December. Sen. Charles Fuschillo calls the Interlock, "another measure to stop an epidemic in New York State—to stop drunk driving." The bill was named for an 11-year-old girl who died in a DWI crash on the West Side Highway.