Did you know that Brooklyn was originally made up of six seperate towns? Five of them Dutch, and one English. They were called: Bushwick, Flatlands, Flatbush, Brooklyn, New Utrecht, and the English town of Gravesend. The Brooklyn town was made up of Wallabout, Cripplebush, Brooklyn Village or Breukelen, Bedford and Gowanus. Cripplebush?

Today, Ephemeral NY takes a look at the unfortunately-named village, explaining that "Dutch residents of nearby Wallabout were granted a patent in 1654 to incorporate Cripplebush at the intersection of the Cripplebush Road and the Wallabout and Newtown Road or about Flushing and Nostrand Avenues of today. In 1830 Wallabout Village was started, including within its limits the Cripplebush settlement, and still later the section became known as East Brooklyn.”

Cripplebush Road is now long gone, and ForgottenNY points out that it "ran NE from the colonial village of Bedford Corners (at about today's Bedford and Fulton) to Long Island City, passing through the old village of Cripplebush, now a part of Williamsburg."