2008_04_emmys.jpgThis past Sunday the New York Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences had its local Emmy awards presentation and there were some surprises among the winners in the local news categories along with the amount stations took home compared to last year.

WNYW (Fox 5) picked up the most with nine (up three from last year), including best morning newscast and Arnold Diaz’s “Shame, Shame, Shame” segments picked up two.Perhaps the newly hired news director Dianne Doctor can keep up the winning over on East 67th Street.

The revamped and on the upswing WCBS (CBS 2) snagged five (up three from last year), most notably for its braking news coverage of the Cory Lidle plane crash and best daytime newscast for its coverage of a tragic Bronx fire.

Perennial ratings powerhouse WABC (ABC 7) only picked up four (down three from last year), with the biggest prize the trophy for best newscast over 35 minutes for its coverage of the Midtown steam pipe explosion.

And WNBC (4 New York), who won thirteen Emmys last year, only took home three for Len Berman’s sports reports, political coverage and news photography.

However, the biggest surprise was the 11 wins between the two Spanish language newscasts on WXTV (Univision 41) picking up six and WNJU (Telemundo 47) picking up five. The big wins were WNJU’s Noticiero 47 A Las Once winning the best newscast under 35 minutes and WXTV winning for its continuing coverage of day laborers in Mount Kisco.

Of course there was a bit of irony with two of the winners. Two recently fired reporters won. Mary Garofalo (late of WNYW) won for her reports on fake inspectors and Scott Weinberger (late of WCBS) won for his report about a rabbi who kitted his car out like an unmarked police car.

If you want to see the ceremony, it airs on WNYE/NYCTV (which picked up twelve) Tuesday, April 15th at 9:00 p.m. But if you don’t want to wait that long to find out all the winners, the New York Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences has a PDF of all those who took an Emmy home.