After holding strong in the same storefront for 77 years, the Sol Moscot eyeglasses shop at the corner of Orchard and Delancey streets is being forced out. Are we the only ones who care about this? Those giant sets of eyeglasses looking over Delancey Street always reminded us of Dr. Eckleburg's eyes, staring down upon the lost souls of the Lower East Side.
This week a message was posted on the store's website, which read the "iconic building at 118 Orchard Street may have been sold (with plans to raze the building for development)," but they're sticking in the neighborhood and moving just down the street. Their new home will be at 108 Orchard Street, and they note that "since our Great Grandpa Hyman first started selling eyeglasses from a pushcart on Orchard Street in 1899... we were determined to stay close!" This will mark the third move for the store: "Great Grandpa, Hyman opened the first MOSCOT shop on Rivington Street, and Grandpa Sol moved MOSCOT to 118 Orchard Street." Perhaps that's where Allen Ginsberg picked up his trademark glasses.
The new 2200-square-foot space will include "live music shows, as well as plenty of space to showcase Moscot family memorabilia, commemorating our history and that of the Lower East Side." Look for it to open sometime next Spring... and hopefully those giant eyeglasses will be propped up on the new store's exterior.