The NYC Marathon kicked off bright and early today at 8:30 a.m., and the winners of the 26-mile-long race have just been announced: Mary Keitany was the women's champion, her third consecutive win, while 20-year-old Ghirmay Ghebreslassie was the first man to cross the finish line—and the youngest champion in NYC Marathon history.

Ghebreslassie was the uncontested champion, clocking in at 2 hours, 7 minutes and 51 seconds. Keitany, the women's champion, crossed the finish line after 2 hours, 24 minutes and 26 seconds.

"I am very excited to win three times," Keitany said after winning the race. "It's not easy—but I got it. It means a lot to me."

Paralympians Marcel Eric Hug, from Switzerland, and Tatyana McFadden, from Russia came in first place in the marathon's wheelchair race.

Sally Kipyego, an Olympic gold medalist from Kenya, came in second place. Third-place winner Molly Huddle made her marathon debut and was the first American to cross the finish line, and was the first podium for an American woman since 2010.

Kenyan long distance runner Lucas Rotich was the second man to cross, and Addi Abdirahman was the third. At 39 years old, Abdirahman is the oldest podium finisher in marathon history, while Ghebreslassie was the youngest. Defending men's champion Stanley Biwott dropped out of the race around the 9-mile mark.