Carnegie Hall presents American Composers Orchestra, an ensemble known for its "always fascinating… frequently exhilarating forays into recent music—or music that was written decades ago but is still fresh” (Newsday). The orchestra performs a new work on the subject of migration by Pulitzer Prize-winning Chinese composer Du Yun, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall. There’s also a Feldman work inspired by ancient manuscripts found along the Silk Road and Gloria Coates’s daring exploration of unconventional string tuning.

American Composers Orchestra
Thursday, April 11 at 7:30 PM

George Manahan, Music Director and Conductor
Ali Sethi, Vocalist
Helga Davis, Vocalist
Shayna Dunkelman, Percussion

FELDMAN Turfan Fragments
GLORIA COATES Symphony No. 1, "Music on Open Strings"
DU YUN / KHALED JARRAR Where We Lost Our Shadows (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
Music by Du Yun | Film by Khaled Jarrar

Get Tickets Here.

This post is brought to you by our sponsor, Carnegie Hall.