This year the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences decided to bump up the number of films eligible for Best Picture nomination from five to ten. The nominations were announced before dawn on the west coast this morning by Anne Hathaway and Academy President Tom Sherak. Some, like Jeffrey Wells at Hollywood Elsewhere, had threatened "a tsumani of shame" if the Coen brothers' superb film A Serious Man was left out of the newly-expanded Best Picture category. But Old Testament wrath was mercifully averted, and the film was nominated for Best Picture and Best Screenplay. Now it better win, lest Hollywood feel our hurricane of hate.

Unsurprisingly, Avatar and The Hurt Lockerare leading the Oscar race with nine nominations each. We have yet to see the former—it was still sold out at IMAX Lincoln Square last weekend! For the most part, the acting nominations mirrored the SAG awards, with exception of supporting actress—Maggie Gyllenhaal has received an Oscar nomination for Crazy Heart, whereas Diane Kruger took her place in the SAG awards for Inglourious Basterds.

Jeremy Renner was nominated for Best Actor for The Hurt Locker, and Penelope Cruz was nominated for Nine. (Pedro Almodóvar's most expensive movie to date, Broken Embraces, which stars Cruz, was denied a Best Foreign Picture nomination.) The Coveand Burma VJ would seem to be front-runners in the race for Best Documentary.

The show, hosted by Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin, airs March 7th. The full list is below.

Best Picture:


"The Blind Side"

"District 9"

"An Education"

"Hurt Locker"

"Inglourious Basterds"


"A Serious Man"


"Up in the Air"

Actor in a leading role:

Jeff Bridges, "Crazy Heart"

George Clooney, "Up in the Air"

Colin Firth, "A Single Man"

Morgan Freeman, "Invictus"

Jeremy Renner, "The Hurt Locker"

Actress in a Leading Role:

Sandra Bullock, "The Blind Side"

Helen Mirren, "The Last Station"

Carey Mulligan, "An Education"

Gabourey Sibide, "Precious"

Meryl Streep, "Julie & Julia"

Actor in a Supporting Role:

Matt Damon, "Invictus"

Woody Harrelson, "The Messenger"

Christopher Plummer, "The Last Station"

Stanley Tucci, "The Lovely Bones"

Chistoph Waltz, "Inglourious Basterds"

Actress in a Supporting Role:

Penelope Cruz, "Nine"

Vera Farmiga, "Up in the Air"

Maggie Gyllenhaal, "Crazy Heart"

Anna Kendrick, "Up in the Air"

Mo'Nique, "Precious"

Best Animated Feature Film:


"Fantastic Mr. Fox"

"The Princess and the Frog"

"The Secret of Kells"



"Avatar," James Cameron

"The Hurt Locker," Kathryn Bigelow

"Inglourious Basterds," Quentin Tarantino

"Precious," Lee Daniels

"Up in the Air," Jason Reitman

Best Adapted Screenplay:

"District 9," by Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell

"An Education," by Nick Hornby

"In the Loop," by Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche

"Precious," by Geoffrey Fletcher

"Up in the Air," by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner

Best Original Screenplay:

"The Hurt Locker," by Mark Boal

"Inglourious Basterds," by Quentin Tarantino

"The Messenger," by Alessandro Camon and Oren Moverman

"A Serious Man," by Joel and Ethan Coen

"Up," screenplay by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter; story by Pete Docter, Bob Peterson, Tom McCarthy

Best Art Direction:

"Avatar": Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair

"The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus": Art Direction: Dave Warren and Anastasia Masaro; Set Decoration: Caroline Smith

"Nine": Art Direction: John Myhre; Set Decoration: Gordon Sim

"Sherlock Holmes": Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer

"The Young Victoria": Art Direction: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Maggie Gray

Best Cinematography:

"Avatar": Mauro Fiore

"Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince": Bruno Delbonnel

"The Hurt Locker": Barry Ackroyd

"Inglourious Basterds": Robert Richardson

"The White Ribbon": Christian Berger

Best Costume Design:

"Bright Star" -- Janet Patterson

"Coco before Chanel" -- Catherine Leterrier

"The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus" -- Monique Prudhomme

"Nine" - Colleen Atwood

"The Young Victoria"

Best Documentary:

"Burma VJ" Anders Østergaard and Lise Lense-Møller

"The Cove" Nominees to be determined

"Food, Inc." Robert Kenner and Elise Pearlstein

"The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers" Judith Ehrlich and Rick Goldsmith

"Which Way Home" Rebecca Cammisa

Best Editing:

"Avatar" Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua and James Cameron

"District 9" Julian Clarke

"The Hurt Locker" Bob Murawski and Chris Innis

"Inglourious Basterds" Sally Menke

"Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire" Joe Klotz

Best Foreign Film:

"Ajami" Israel

"El Secreto de Sus Ojos" Argentina

"The Milk of Sorrow" Peru

"Un Prophète" France

"The White Ribbon" Germany

Best Makeup:

"Il Divo" Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano

"Star Trek" Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow

"The Young Victoria" Jon Henry Gordon and Jenny Shircore

Best Original Score:

"Avatar" James Horner

"Fantastic Mr. Fox" Alexandre Desplat

"The Hurt Locker" Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders

"Sherlock Holmes" Hans Zimmer

"Up" Michael Giacchino

Best Original Song:

"Almost There" from "The Princess and the Frog" Music and Lyric by Randy Newman

"Down in New Orleans" from "The Princess and the Frog" Music and Lyric by Randy Newman

"Loin de Paname" from "Paris 36" Music by Reinhardt Wagner Lyric by Frank Thomas
"Take It All" from "Nine" Music and Lyric by Maury Yeston

"The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)" from "Crazy Heart" Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett

Best Sound:

"Avatar" Christopher Boyes and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle

"The Hurt Locker" Paul N.J. Ottosson

"Inglourious Basterds" Wylie Stateman

"Star Trek" Mark Stoeckinger and Alan Rankin

"Up" Michael Silvers and Tom Myers

Best Sound Effects Editing:

"Avatar" Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson and Tony Johnson

"The Hurt Locker" Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett

"Inglourious Basterds" Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti and Mark Ulano

"Star Trek" Anna Behlmer, Andy Nelson and Peter J. Devlin

"Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers and Geoffrey Patterson

Best Visual Effects:

"Avatar" Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones

"District 9": Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros and Matt Aitken

"Star Trek": Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh and Burt Dalton